Muslim Flavor

This world has many different flavors….here’s mine

Troubles in Life January 31, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — muslimflavor @ 10:26 pm

Sometimes I would wonder why “bad” things happen to us. I would think such and such has happened to me because of some sin that I committed. And that thinking would get me depressed and problems would pile high until I could not even raise my hands to make du’a to ask Allah to relieve my problems. I felt that my du’a is not going to be answered so why bother. I thought I am probably not sincere anyways so don’t bother with it. Now I am at a different stage in life alhamdulilah, though I am still fragile…I think everyone is fragile to some extent, so we should never think that we are safe in our level of iman. Not too long ago I went to a halaqa. It was about “…surely Allah does not change the condition of a people until they change their own condition…” (Qur’an 11:13). Many times we complain about all the problems we have. Our families, our financial situation, our looks, etc; We don’t realize that Allah sacrifices our whole life to make us exceptional people. These trials are supposed to make us better people, but instead some of us leave prayer, lose hope in Allah, turn away from Islam, etc; True some things may happen because of our sins, but do not become disheartened. That may be a sign that Allah cares for you. There are many people in this world who experience little discomfort and because of this they deny Allah’s existence and they think all that they have is from themselves and that when they die that will be the end. Nothing more. When troubles come your way look and see what you can learn from them. How can you change? How can you become better? Allah did not create us as some form of recreation, “And We did not create the heavens and the earth and what is between them in sport” (Qur’an 44:38). So don’t think that anything that happens to you is without a wise reason and/or is some sort of sick torture. Have you experienced more trails and hardships than Prophet Muhammad, (pbuh)? But Prophet Muhammad (pbuh) was the beloved of Allah. So don’t lose heart. No matter what you have done or what you are doing, strive to be close to Allah doing what he has commanded you to do. And whatever comes your way look at it as a mercy from Allah. Sins could be removed, you might feel inclined to making du’a, being more serious with your prayers, increased ranks in Jannah, etc; Whatever it is is good. How can you really know “what you are made of” if you are never tested? Tests show you who you really are and inshaAllah if you are patient they will develop you into a better person.

 

Leave a Reply

